Return to Headlines

Jacob R. Dewey, Austin Y. Liao, John P. Manthorp, Rachana Mudipalli, Brian D. Popeck, Saranya Sampath, Manish Suryapalam, Swati Vipperla, Hanna J. Yang

National Merit Semifinalists

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)—a test which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.


In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. To ensure that academically talented young people from all parts of the United States are included in this talent pool, Semifinalists are designated on a state-representational basis. They are the highest scoring entrants in each state. 


STEM Academy Semi-Finalists

Jacob R. Dewey

Austin Y. Liao

John P. Manthorp

Rachana Mudipalli

Brian D. Popeck

Saranya Sampath

Manish Suryapalam

Swati Vipperla

Hanna J. Yang