• Who Is My Counselor?

    The WEST Counseling Department serves all 1850+ students of Downingtown High School – West Campus. The student body is split amongst seven school counselors by grade level and last name. Each counselor’s caseload is broken down below, along with special duties managed by each counselor. Also included in this list are our Administrative Assistants: Carrie McBride and Nancy Hanft, our Prevention Specialists: Matt McFadden and Jocelyn White, and our School Psychologists: Jean Hirst and Anne Wiest.

    What is the Role of a School Counselor?

    School counselors are trained to give valuable assistance to students, helping them with their academic goals, as well as their social, personal, and college/career development. School counselors act as advocates for the student's well-being, listening to their concerns in a caring, non-judgmental way. Depending on the issue, a school counselor can help develop a positive and realistic path towards academic or career goals, or can refer students to a Prevention Specialist or School Psychologist for additional support. 

    What is the role of a Prevention Specialist?

    At DASD, the Prevention Specialist is a professional who works with at-risk youth by conducting education about mental health, substance abuse and other high-risk activities.  They are required to work with students and families who are involved with anything related to child abuse or neglect. Prevention Specialists must also provide education on mental health promotion by conducting assessments to individuals and families, including crisis evaluation and intervention. At WEST, the Prevention Specialists also run our Student Assistance Program (SAP).

    What is the role of a School Psychologist?

    At DASD, School Psychologists provide direct support and interventions to students, consult with teachers, families, and other school-employed mental health professionals (i.e., school counselors, prevention specialists) to improve support strategies, work with school administrators to improve school-wide practices and policies, and collaborate with community providers to coordinate needed services. A major responsibility of the School Psychologist is to conduct psychoeducational evaluations to determine if a student is eligible for services through Chapter 15/Section 504 Services or Chapter 14/Special Education Services. 

Name Extension Email Last Name 9-12 Counselor Assignments
Susanne Farnesi x42042 sfarnesi@dasd.org A - Ch READY Day Coordinator
Danielle Curran x42044 dcurran@dasd.org Ci - Fre AP Coordinator
Karen Stephens x42045 kstephens@dasd.org Fri - Joh Scholarship Coordinator
Kristina Carter x42046 kcarter@dasd.org Joi - McG Scholarship Coordinator
Emily Ernest x42041 eernest@dasd.org McH - P Advanced Placement (AP) Coordinator
Cassidy Dawson x42043 cdawson@dasd.org Q - Sor READY Day Coordinator
Mike Borkowski x42040 mborkowski@dasd.org Sos - Z Building Leader/ACT, SAT, PSAT/ SSD Coordinator for SAT and ACT, NCAA Liaison, TCHS Liaison
Jocelyn White x11462 jwhite@dasd.org Prevention Specialist
Matthew McFadden x11467 mmcfadden@dasd.org Prevention Specialist